Financial Assistance


Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program

At SouthEastern Illinois Electric Cooperative, we understand that there are times when a member may be facing financial difficulty and may need assistance in paying their utility bill.  In those instances, we ask that members please contact our office to discuss options available.

Your Cooperative is involved with the Illinois Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP).  LIHEAP is designed to assist eligible low-income households pay for winter energy services. The amount of payment is determined by income, household size, fuel type, and geographic location. LIHEAP is funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the state of Illinois. Energy Assistance is provided by local community action agencies or not-for-profit agencies throughout the state. You may contact the agency provider in your area to apply for assistance.

Program Requirements

In order to qualify for this benefit program, you must be a resident of the state of Illinois and you must need financial assistance for home energy costs. In order to qualify, you must have an annual household income (before taxes) that is less than or equal to the following amounts:

Annual Household Income Limits (before taxes)

Household SizeMaximum Income Level (Per Year)Maximum Income Level (Per Month)

*For households with more than eight people, add $8,960 per additional person to the annual income.  Always check with the appropriate managing agency to ensure the most accurate guidelines.

If you are needing assistance, you will need to contact your local agencies to set up an appointment.  Please see the list of agencies below.

Community Action Agencies Serving SEIEC Members


Serving – Hamilton, Gallatin, Saline & White Counties


Hours: Monday-Thursday, 7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

                        Main Office                                                  Harrisburg Location               

                        110 Latham Street                                        14 Veterans Drive

                        P.O. Box 70                                                   Harrisburg, IL  62946

                        Enfield, IL  62835-0070                                 Phone: 618-252-2680

                        Phone: 618-963-2387


Serving – Franklin & Williamson Counties


Hours:  Monday – Thursday, 7:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

                        Main Office                                                   

                        410 West Main St.                                         

                        West Frankfort, IL  62896-2229                     

                        Phone: 618-937-3581                                    


Serving – Hardin, Johnson, Massac & Pope Counties


Hours:  Monday – Thursday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.


                        Main Office                                                   Hardin County Location

                        530 W. Washington                                       147 N Main Street

                        P.O. Box 298                                                  P.O. Box 168

                        Karnak, IL  62956-0298                                 Elizabethtown, IL  62931  

                        Phone:  618-634-2201                                   Phone:  618-287-7071

                        Pope County Location

                          Pope County Community Center

                          922 S. Adams Street

                          Golconda, IL  62938

                          Phone:  618-683-2107